The Mosaic Bit

wooden disc 2

While the Chief Fabricator is busy with the copper, I can concentrate on the mosaic feature of the sculpture.  The photo on the right shows the wooden disc which will house two mosaics, one on each side.  I have drilled holes in it to provide extra “clingability” (is that a word?) for the adhesive.

 planning mosaic

The next step is to plan the mosaic. I’ve used dark and light pebbles for contrast, and beach glass for added colour.  All collected from the Bay so very fitting! I arrange them on a sheet of paper exactly how they will be in the final mosaic.

 

mosaic adhesiveI apply a thick layer of adhesive over the surface of the wooden disc where the mosaic will go.  This is a slow drying adhesive so that I don’t have to rush so much.  Less stress!  I place each pebble and beach glass painstakingly into its correct place, making sure the adhesive doesn’t squish out between each piece, then leave the mosaic to dry overnight.  The next day I spray it with a thin film of clear acrylic so that the grout doesn’t sink in to the pores of the beach glass.mosaic laid

 

 

 

 

 

Once the acrylic film is dry, it’s time to grout! This is like icing a giant cake. Messy but fun!mosaic grout

 

I smear the grout thickly over the mosaic, making sure all the gaps are filled, then I begin wiping it off with a damp sponge.  This is a long process as the sponge quickly gets full of grout.  I’m so pleased with the end result – my weeks of practice have finally paid off!  Now I just have to do it all again on the other side!

mosaic final

 

 

 

 

About Islandgirl

I always wanted to be a mermaid. But I quite like my legs, so I became a Scuba Diving Instructor instead. Then I found a Texan husband in the Caribbean, moved to Jersey and had children. The water's a bit chilly for me here, so I decided to make my love of creativity my new job. How cool is that! So that's what I do: I paint, I draw and I sculpt. My inspiration comes from my travels, and from the beautiful nature all around me. Follow me a little bit on one of my journeys as I make a big big sculpture for one of local hotels. Thanks for visiting...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

