A Huge Copper Learning Curve

welding copperMy Chief Fabricator has been busy in the Man Cave, covering the entire steel structure with a copper skin.  This has been challenging, exhausting, and involves a huge learning curve, but I’m amazed how much he’s achieved already, and it’s going to be beeee-autiful!

copper on steel

He started by doing some practice runs.  Small pieces of copper were welded to offcuts of steel.  The larger pieces proved more challenging – they get very HOT during the process and move around a lot.  I would love to help, but these things are best left to professionals, so I will stick to the mosaic bits…copper done on one side  One side of the wave has been completed, and it’s time for the Welder of Distinction to go back to flying his Jumbo for a few days, but we’re getting there.  It’s nail biting seeing it all take shape.  Remember, Art is a journey, not just a destination. Yes, the final piece is important but the process of getting there is the main thing.  A creative project begins with a passion, then an image or idea.  That idea is developed and given shape and structure.  The creation needs nurture and careful thought until it is finally released as the finished product.  Along the way we’re both learning so much, and there are many things we would do completely differently next time.  But that’s all part of the creative process.  Never stop learning!

 

About Islandgirl

I always wanted to be a mermaid. But I quite like my legs, so I became a Scuba Diving Instructor instead. Then I found a Texan husband in the Caribbean, moved to Jersey and had children. The water's a bit chilly for me here, so I decided to make my love of creativity my new job. How cool is that! So that's what I do: I paint, I draw and I sculpt. My inspiration comes from my travels, and from the beautiful nature all around me. Follow me a little bit on one of my journeys as I make a big big sculpture for one of local hotels. Thanks for visiting...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

