It Begins… The Template is Cut.

template3

Remember the old OHP? Before everything went all digital and fancy, we used these bulky bits of kit to project images onto the wall.  I drew a little version of the Wave onto something called a Transparency (a see-through plastic sheet) and the image is then projected onto a large piece of hardboard.  Here you can see me drawing a line over the projection.  The Wave is ready to be cut out….

20131012-184458.jpgSafety Goggles On! And no jokes about blondes with power tools please… The Wave is carefully cut out with a jig saw.  Et Voila!  The first template is now ready. 

Although the original plan was for a 1500mm Wave structure, we thought carefully about the location at the Hotel.  Now it can blow a bit of a hooley down there, and an alarming image sprung to mind of a giant metal wave rolling onto a passing car, so we reduced the size to 1200mm.  That will still look awesome and won’t hurt as much…

About Islandgirl

I always wanted to be a mermaid. But I quite like my legs, so I became a Scuba Diving Instructor instead. Then I found a Texan husband in the Caribbean, moved to Jersey and had children. The water's a bit chilly for me here, so I decided to make my love of creativity my new job. How cool is that! So that's what I do: I paint, I draw and I sculpt. My inspiration comes from my travels, and from the beautiful nature all around me. Follow me a little bit on one of my journeys as I make a big big sculpture for one of local hotels. Thanks for visiting...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Begins… The Template is Cut.

  1. Loving the dungarees, the power tools and the wave sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

